top of page
Search
  • aresponsetoxyz

Emma's Response

by Emma Haslam

So… what exactly is ‘XYZ’? I suppose if you ask that question to any of the 8 of us, you will get a different answer each time. That is the purpose of ‘XYZ’.

Remnants, 2020, an earlier series I produced brought forward the consideration that material objects retain ‘memory’ once discarded. For this reason, I often incorporate and embed discarded items within my work, either as a tool for printmaking or as a material component, a process which has continued through into my current work. The notion ‘one man’s trash, is another man’s treasure’ fascinates me. Growing up in working class family in Wythenshawe, Manchester, this proposition resonates with me. Re-purposing objects in something which has been instilled in me, taking great pleasure from the little things I had. This conceptuality within Remnants led to my current series, Into The Void.

Through combining a variety of materials and mediums, Into The Void explores the relationship between material manipulation and representation of the introspective. Investigations propose to lead to abstracted depictions of both reality and the subconscious of the mind. This process combined with site-specific installation intends to create an atmosphere representative of the mind and environment of the artist.

The concern for those around me has been amplified by the rise of Covid-19, a dreaded feeling of uncertainty and worry from which I still cannot escape. Feeling trapped inside four white walls, at home, with little escape from this confinement (something I otherwise would have longed for after a day in the studio) apart from the treasured weekly trip to the supermarket has undoubtedly influenced the trajectory of my work. I hope that both the heightening of emotions and the monotonous reality of extensive isolation, present themselves within Into The Void.

So… what does ‘XYZ’ mean to me?

‘XYZ’, for me, doesn’t present itself in a simple, definite answer. It is something which will constantly evolve, changing its path with the present. Though, currently my response to ‘XYZ’ is situational, a reflection of the position I find myself in relation to the world as it currently stands. However, in some ways, to me, ‘XYZ’ remains the same, through the inspection of Into The Void, you may notice a single red line which appears in each artwork. This line conceptually represents the things that remain the same, an example of this would be the memories we hold, both those we cherish and those we wish we could change or forget. Into The Void attempts to draw upon a world which feels confusing, uncertain, and as though it is slowly perishing…

‘Til next time...

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lily's Response

by Lily Bodanyi-Miller A response to XYZ can mean a number of things – it might involve your emotions or your environment creating a catalyst to induce an energy that morphs into leading you towards c

Aleksandra's Response

by Aleksandra Dobrowolska Over the course of 3 months, I initiated my idea of depicting the interpersonal feeling of claustrophobia. Through crits and reflection, I decided to materialise and capture

Representation and Reproduction

by Aaron Jolley Walter Benjamin famously spoke about 'the work of art in the age of mechanical reproduction', and while I don't wish to go into a critical reading of his famous statements, I do think

bottom of page