top of page
Search
  • aresponsetoxyz

Lily's Response

by Lily Bodanyi-Miller

A response to XYZ can mean a number of things – it might involve your emotions or your environment creating a catalyst to induce an energy that morphs into leading you towards creating something. Responses can come from sound, colour, intimacy or taste. We are fully immersed, involved and affected by everything that surrounds us, whether we are conscious of this or not.


My response to ‘XYZ’ acknowledges my first major awareness of the worryingly polarised political climate within the UK. The drawings symbolise how I see our society from the recent past and the present. The drawings demonstrate how capitalism can create unprecedented divides in the distribution of wealth. Much of our press influences our way of thinking. Brexit has polarised our population. Life in the UK is feeling disjointed and chaotic. Optimism – can we indulge ourselves to feel this in the future?


My most recent piece (Living Destruction – part 3) is a direct response, including my emotional response, to the Pandemic. My seemingly continuing malaise means that I am observing life around me in a way that I hardly recognise. It’s claustrophobic, it’s chaotic and it has a hint of a dystopian society. Our freedoms are restricted, and life is being lived under constant threat of a ‘killer virus’.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Emma's Response

by Emma Haslam So… what exactly is ‘XYZ’? I suppose if you ask that question to any of the 8 of us, you will get a different answer each time. That is the purpose of ‘XYZ’. Remnants, 2020, an earlier

Aleksandra's Response

by Aleksandra Dobrowolska Over the course of 3 months, I initiated my idea of depicting the interpersonal feeling of claustrophobia. Through crits and reflection, I decided to materialise and capture

Representation and Reproduction

by Aaron Jolley Walter Benjamin famously spoke about 'the work of art in the age of mechanical reproduction', and while I don't wish to go into a critical reading of his famous statements, I do think

bottom of page